Why Austin, TX Has the Best Art

My last full day in Austin was pretty eventful! We started at Magnolia Cafe for breakfast. There’s two locations in Austin and both are open 24 hours. We went to the original location on Lake Austin Blvd.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I ordered the Queso Enchilada and a gingerbread pancake, and Leslie ordered the Breakfast Taco. The food was delicious and I enjoyed the retro vibe of the restaurant. Would recommend, but come early because it does get crowded. If you want to read more about the restaurant’s history check it out here.

ATX_Mexicarte

Next stop was Mexic-Arte Museum. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Being Mexican-American, it was awesome to see and support my culture. I loved the mural outside of the museum (El Mero Muro). The vibrant colors and the Virgin Mary caught my eye. The top left says “Nos Hablas Cuando Llegues”, which is a common thing to say if you’re a Latinx parent. It means “call us when you get there”, basically to ensure you got to your destination safely.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Inside the museum I really enjoyed the linocut and woodcut pieces. The details are amazing. The pictures don’t do it justice. Mexic-Arte was a great place to visit. I love that the founders want to share the art and culture of Mexico in Texas. They continue to showcase work of artists from the US, Mexico, and Latin America. You can read more about the history here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The gift shop had a Frida Kahlo and Selena section, which I enjoyed. I had also been looking for a shirt souvenir throughout the weekend, and I finally found “the” shirt. It was a baseball tee with “La Calavera Catrina” on it.

ATX_Mariachi

Con Mariachi Los Gallos (PC: Author’s own)

Next we stopped at a Block Party at University of Texas, Austin. We got there with perfect timing when the Mariachi Group started playing. It was an unexpected treat and a lovely performance. We were also able to get a picture with them after!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also saw Ellsworth Kelly’s Austin which is a small building that has stained glass windows. It’s hard to capture the essence in a picture. The piece is supposed to bring “joy and contemplation”. The colorful windows are hopeful and bright, but you begin to think about what’s on the other side of that light. It felt serene inside the building. Austin is part of the Blanton Museum of Art. You can read more about the piece on the museum’s website here.

atx_tacos.jpg

MAKE TACOS NOT WAR in Blanton Museum of Art (PC: Author’s own)

We also saw this piece inside the museum which I enjoyed.

The rest of my last day in Austin will be posted soon. In the meantime, you can catch up on my Day 1 and Day 2 of my trip.

XO

Elizabeth

One thought on “Why Austin, TX Has the Best Art

Leave a comment