A Guide To Austin, TX: Austin Daily Press, Murals, and South Congress Bats

A few months ago my sister told me she was going to Austin for her friend’s Bachelorette party. I ended up tagging along with her to visit my good friend Leslie, who lives near Austin. It was my first time in Texas, so I was excited to explore something new!

The weekend was packed with a lot of sights to see. I couldn’t get enough of the many murals, awesome views, and amazing food!

Leslie and I met at Vans HQ in Costa Mesa. Below are some pictures of us at work and at our other adventures in LA. I couldn’t wait to be reunited with her in her city!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our first stop was eating at the Austin Daily Press in East Austin.

I would definitely recommend this place! The ambiance was relaxing. There was cute wall art inside, benches outside, and of course we had to take a pic in front of the mural.

ATX_ADP2

Outside at ADP – In order: my sister’s friend Sarah, my sister Stefanie, Me, and Leslie (PC: Author’s own)

I ordered “Mama Tried” which was delicious! Description from website: Fried Green Tomatoes, Fresh Mozzarella, Aji Aioli, Fresh Avocado, Pickled Fresno Chilis, Strawberries, Butter Lettuce & Arugula. See some pictures below for what we ordered.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The weather was sunny when we got there, but it ended up getting cooler throughout the weekend. Here’s my outfit details for the first day. See pic below –

ATX_ADP1

Full outfit at ADP (PC: Shoutout to my sister for the pic)

Fedora with black rim (From Target, here’s a similar fedora)

Shirt (Vans, here’s a similar top), Jacket from my sister

Jeans (Topshop at Nordstrom) These are my go-to black distressed jeans. They’re very comfortable and perfect for the plane ride!

Sneakers (Vans True White Authentics), Pineapple socks (Hotsox from Nordstrom)

Small black bag (Urban Outfitters. Similar one here)

Next stop was Prohibition Creamery (no pics taken, but I ordered the Black Magic.) It was activated charcoal ice cream, Madagascar vanilla bean, and El Silencio Espadin mezcal. This is a cute place to hang out and get some ice cream (alcohol optional) haha.

Next we walked around South Congress, shopped a little and stopped at a few murals.

ATX_AustinMural

Greetings from Austin Mural near South Congress (PC: Shoutout to Leslie)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We waited to see the bats at South Congress Bridge. A lot of them come out from under the bridge and it attracts a lot of people. (You know they’re there because they’re a bit stinky, haha!) Leslie had shown me a video of them last year, but unfortunately we didn’t get to see too many when we went. 😦 It’s okay though, we tried! Pic below from our point of view at the bridge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We ended the night going through the Whataburger drive-thru. It’s pronounced  “water-burger” – it’s the equivalent to In-N-Out Burger here. I have to say they are pretty different, but I think I’m an In-N-Out girl at heart, hehe. (Sorry Leslie!) Below is a picture of Selena drawn on a Whataburger bag at a local shop. This shop supported local artists which was cool. This is where I got my Frida Kahlo keychain.

atx_whataburger.jpg

“Anything for Selenas” Art on Whataburger bag (PC: Author’s own)

Hope you enjoyed seeing a little bit of what I did in Austin on my first day. Stay tuned for the rest of my trip!

XO

Elizabeth

3 thoughts on “A Guide To Austin, TX: Austin Daily Press, Murals, and South Congress Bats

Leave a comment